Team

NOFA-NY Certified Organic, LLC

Bert Olechnowicz, Certification Directorcertdirector@nofany.org
Jessica Terry, Compliance Directorjessica@nofany.org
Sarah Murdie, Operations Directoroperations@nofany.org
Alexis Spoor, Materials & Inspection Coordinatoralexis@nofany.org
Krisztina Blackham, Bookkeeperkblackham@nofany.org
Samantha Shipley, Administrative Assistantcertifiedorganic@nofany.org
Crop Certification Department:
Kristen Barker, Crop Certification Coordinator
Cassie Abrams, Crop Certification Coordinator Assistant
cropcert@nofany.org
Dairy & Livestock Certification Department:
Erika Worden, Dairy & Livestock Certification Coordinator
Francesca VanDeWeert, Dairy & Livestock Certification Coordinator Assistant
dairycert@nofany.org
Handling/Processing Certification Department:
Ashleigh Knecht, Handling Certification Lead
Maggie Raymond, Handling Certification Coordinator
handling@nofany.org
Certification Specialists:
Heather Orr, Senior Certification Specialist
Stephanie Sparrell-Martin, Senior Certification Specialist
Elena Braiotta, Certification Specialist
Ava Glasser, Certification Specialist
Lacey Smith, Certification Specialist
Maria Giurastante, Certification Specialist
Brooks Willhoite, Certification Specialist

NOFA-NY, Inc.

Bethany Wallis, Executive Directorbethany@nofany.org
Sarah Murdie, Operations Directoroperations@nofany.org
Kim Kopp, Bookkeeperkkopp@nofany.org
Katie Baildon, Organic Policy Coordinatorkbaildon@nofany.org
Liana Hoodes, Policy Consultantpolicy@nofany.org
Jessica Aubrey, Marketing and Events Directorjaubrey@nofany.org
Whitney Beaman, Long Island Organic Transition Educatorwbeaman@nofany.org
Alexander Warshal, Member Communications Coordinatormembercoordinator@nofany.org
Robert Perry, Grain & Field Crops Coordinatorrobert@nofany.org
Sarah Ficken, Organic Dairy & Livestock Coordinatorsficken@nofany.org

Board of Directors

Board members come from the membership of NOFA-NY and may serve up to two, consecutive three-year terms. Each year members are asked to submit nominations to the board, which are then reviewed by the Board of Directors and voted on by the membership at the annual meeting. 

President: Crystal Stewart-Courtens, Cornell Cooperative Extension
Vice President: Kaitlyn Sirna, Center for Agricultural Development and Entrepreneurship (CADE)
Treasurer: Don Cimato, Homecoming Farm
Secretary: Jonathan Brown, Pace University
Liz Bawden, Bawden Farms
Zaid Kurdieh, Norwich Meadows Farm
Sean Barrett, Montauk Seaweed Supply Co.
Frank Cetera, Alchemical Nursery Project
Maryrose Livingston, Northland Sheep Dairy
Wes Gillingham, Catskill Mountainkeeper
Bhavani Jaroff, iEat Green, LLC
Patty Lovera, Organic Farmers Association
Mary-Howell Martens, Lakeview Organic Grain
Robert Perry, NOFA-NY Staff Representative

Management Committee

The Certified Organic Management Committee is appointed by the NOFA-NY Board of Directors to oversee the operation of NOFA-NY Certified Organic, LLC. Members must be qualified and free of conflicts of interest as determined by the National Organic Program requirements. They cannot be connected with operations that are certified by the LLC.

Co-Chair: Erin Summerlee, Food and Health Network of South Central NY
Co-Chair: Liana Hoodes, Agriculture Policy Consultant
Arby Swift, Retired Vice President of Farm Credit
Gordon Thompson, Coughlin & Gerhart L.L.P.
Sandy Crawford, Tioga State Bank
Marianne Simmons, Peacework CSA and Retired Librarian of St. John Fisher College